Main Menu

High Altitude Training

Started by kilbluff1985, October 12, 2012, 11:13:46 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

kilbluff1985

So this year is the first time Essendon is doing this and i'm on a Bombers facebook page and have people asking if it works and saying there is no scientific proof etc

I keep telling them it does work and listed the benefits of High Altitude Training and said clubs would not do it if it did not work.

Are they right in questioning it? or am i right in saying it does work/help

if anyone has an article or something proving it works for me i would appreciate it

Tominator

People are questioning it because they don't know themselves..

I know it helps your lung capacity and stuff like that, and I can definitely see why so many clubs are embracing this,  but I'm no expert in it

CrowsFan

Basically what happens is the higher you go away from sea level the less oxygen there is in the air. Oxygen as we all know is what is required to do work. As there is less oxygen in each breath there is less oxygen to move to your muscles. To overcompensate this your body increases it's lung capacity and starts to produce more red blood cells, which are what carry the oxygen through your body. More red blood cells means more oxygen transported to muscles, which means you fatigue slower.

When you then move back to sea level there is a lot more oxygen in the air, and since you have increased your red blood cell count you can transport more of it around your body to stop fatigue. Eventually you body readjusts to the altitude and your body stops producing as much red blood cells and you go back to normal, but before that you certainly have an advantage as you can work harder and fatigue less.

So in simple, yes high altitude training works.

monstrum