Trades are gold, Dont trade mmmm

Started by tony73, April 05, 2009, 12:42:42 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

tony73

This is my first year in SC and many who seem to have a great deal of experience with SC say trades are gold and dont trade in the first 3-6 rounds or you are crazy!

Well I pose this to those and ask for advice.

I had Raines, Hurley, Anthony and Hentshel, all now injured

Also Rookies Petrenko, Hill, Rich, Walker, Danger. I believe 3 of those 5 are in danger of not playing (not Walker anymore)

Had I not traded Raines last week I would have been facing a snowballing effect leading into round 1 of the league comp and struggling to field 22 players and a raft of donuts.

And we have 7 games left this round!!! I agree with Monty that either Raines or Anthony was a must trade last week.

I can invisage using two trades this week before the prices change

Thoughts as to the don't trade advice?

Richo_Richo_Man

Trading early on does allow you to get rid of duds that will cause big $ loss. Ie b4 3 games. So Rd2 is the last opp to do so before $ are posted.

Putting 22 on the park is overrated early in the season, when u consider some players in your side can score <50. Is it worth it for 1 more player? Wait and inj players can come back unless serious inj.

I always feel the primary reason for trading is like shares...your investment has grown substantially and you cash in to upgrade to a better point scoring player.

Many people had Raines, me 2 and I've got Hents. I traded Raines for Cheney who incidentally was one of my floaters before R1 and I regret not taking the risk now. Raines has a knee inj and I feel it's too risky to hang on to him. If Cheney keeps scoring >50 I'll make money.

As for Hents...I've got a reasonable bench and on his return he only needs to score 40-60 to break even.